top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureIOWA STATE DPHIL

Concerts, Connecting, Traveling, and Teaching


Being an undergraduate student and experiencing a pandemic was never something I thought I would be living in. Prior to the COVID-19 Pandemic, everyone knew me to be a germaphobe. So, experiencing a pandemic has shown me very clearly that I am truly a germaphobe. Although this pandemic will end at some point, who knows when that will be? Reflecting back on life prior to a pandemic, it makes me question why we were always in major crowds, such as concerts. I love music and going to concerts and that has been one of the things I’ve missed the most during quarantine.


However, looking towards the future, I am excited to have human connection again. Although I am a germaphobe, I am also 100% an extrovert. It has been an interesting time to be worried about getting COVID-19 while also desperately wanting to see my Sisters and friends in person.


Something else I am looking forward to is being able to travel more. I was lucky enough to drive to Colorado over the summer and spend a few days there. It was interesting because I felt more safe in Colorado than Iowa because Colorado had a mask mandate. In addition to that, all the places I visited in Colorado were outdoors, so it was exciting to see the mountains and national parks and have a little get away after spending March-August indoors in Iowa.


Starting in January, I will be a student teacher in K-6. I have been looking forward to this for such a long time because it means I am one step closer to becoming a teacher. So, even though we will more than likely still be “in quarantine” at that time, I am excited to be able to positively impact the students I meet and teach.


Let me sign off on this post by saying please wear a mask!!


Written by Vanessa "FORTRESS" Kime

0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

21

bottom of page