top of page
Search

5 Easy Ways to Reduce Time in the Morning


Now that school has started back up, it may be harder for some to get up early and get back into the groove of things. I know I ran into this problem all the time. I would run late to class, I would have to skip breakfast, and I wouldn't have time to make my lunch. This wasn't good because I would be starving all day and it made it hard to pay attention in class, or my stomach would in knots by the end of the day. Here's a few helpful tips that I have been using so that I have enough time to do what I need to do:

1. Pack Lunch the Night Before This may sound obvious but it really is something that has helps a lot. When packing the night before it feels like you have all the time in the world to think about what you want to eat and be able to prepare it. You will be able to enjoy your meal (because it is not peanut butter sandwich) and you can have a more nutritious meal (because your eating more than just a peanut butter sandwich). You don't have to spend 10 minutes making your lunch in the morning.

2. Time Your Showers with a Song If you shower in the morning you're not really able to look at a clock and see how long you are taking. I know when I'm in the shower the time just flies by. You can a use a song to time your showers, so that you know you are staying within 3-5 minutes when taking them. This not only gets you pumped up in the morning, but it helps you get out of the door quicker.

3. Keep Your Alarm On the Other Side of the Room Keeping your alarm on the other side of the room forces you to get out of bed to shut it off (hint: the more annoying the alarm the more you want to shut it off). This also prevents you from easily pressing the snooze button. I know getting up in the morning can be the hardest thing but when you start walking everything becomes easier from there.

4. Brush Your Teeth in the Shower This is a life saver! When you are in the shower and letting the shampoo rinse from your hair, brush your teeth. This lets you do two things at once and makes everything more efficient in the morning.

5. Keep Your Keys in the Same Place ​I don't know about you but I misplace my keys all the time, and I waste so much time in the morning searching for them.  In another case, I am all ready and on time, but then I don't know where my keys are... therefore, missing the bus. You can prevent this from happening to you by putting your keys in the same place right when you get home! I keep my keys on my night stand now, so I know exactly where it is at all times.

Hopefully these tips are helpful to you. I know how stressful things can get when school starts, and it may feel like you don't have enough time in the day. Pick yourself up. Keep your head up. You got this!


Written by Alina "Zephyr" Pham

0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page