top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureIOWA STATE DPHIL

Digital Illustrator

Hello everyone! I’m Yan, and I have an extreme affinity for digital illustration! It’s one of the primary mediums I can express myself through. I’m fascinated with the programs that allow me to draw, color, edit, and compose my work. I use many programs to help me achieve my final design! I use a Wacom Bamboo Fun tablet. Paint Tool SAI:


​Paint Tool SAI is a free third-party drawing program that I’ve obtained from a friend of mine many years ago. This is my go-to when I’m constructing concept art or full on illustrating a piece. It offers a lot of tools from pens, to brushes, to even textures that I can use. I like Paint Tool SAI because it offers folders that you can organize your layers in. There are modes I can set my layers to achieve realistic lighting in my pieces, like this one:


This lighting was achieved with layers of the mode luminosity and different layers of different opacity

Photoshop:


I use photoshop to add text to my creations. I’ve recently started to use photoshop more in order to add dialogue to my webcomic series, Yuzuru. It’s been really helpful because I am able to do all the text and create the speech bubbles.

​Here’s a small peek at what a small strip looks like:


​Unfortunately, due to my schedule being super busy the web series is put on hold and shall be making a comeback in the future. Nonetheless, I am super proud of what I was able to produce and can say that I’ve managed to publish something online. Here are some more pieces I’ve created!


Todoroki, Shoto from My Hero Academi

Tachibana, Makoto from Free!!

I also attempt to do livestreams occasionally on twitch: ​https://www.twitch.tv/odo_drawsaws

If you’re interested and want to follow along as I continue this art journey you can find me on Instagram as Odo_Draws! (Shameless plug.) I hope you enjoyed reading my post and peeking into my world a little bit, and if some terms like opacity, layers, luminosity, folders confuse you, don’t feel bad! Maybe I can elaborate on some digital illustration terms on my next blog!


Written by Yan "Jusollis" Chan

0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page