top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureIOWA STATE DPHIL

Freshman Thoughts

Greetings from Kati “Paradisayuan” Haus!


I am currently a freshman at Iowa State University. I am open option but am looking into Animal Ecology. Less than a year ago I felt constrained by the set amount of abilities I had always been told that I had. While this seems silly now, at the time I was afraid of trying any major that had a challenging road ahead. “You can’t do that, it has calculus. You didn’t even score high enough in math to be a part of the smart people club.” These thoughts held me back from exploring my passions. As a freshman, I experienced quite a wake-up call. “I thought I had everything figured out “-- that’s what they all say.


My first semester of college helped me discover the various crowds of people that eventually lead me to the ladies of Delta Phi Lambda. One sister, Jillian “perīdot” Kurovski, inspired me to pursue my exploration into a career with animals. My old major did not suit my personality. I will admit, I often get distracted while taking a walk due to a creature just nearby. Freshman year has allowed me the freedom to change from my old major and have available resources allowing me to explore my potential in Animal Ecology. This decision to explore a new path certainly has been the best experience for me.


Written by Kati "Paradisayuan" Haus

0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page