top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureIOWA STATE DPHIL

Graduation Thoughts

Graduation is approaching and it has me feeling a mixture of excited, scared, and stressed. One thing I’ve been doing a lot of is reflecting on my years in college. In freshman year I met one of my first friends, my roommate. We bonded quickly and I am forever grateful for her for helping make my freshman year better. I was far away from home and transitioning into college, which I feel is something you can never really prepare for. You just have to jump in and experience it for yourself.

The next chapter in my college career was joining Delta Phi Lambda. I never imagined myself as a sorority girl and I had never planned on being one. But the sisters changed my view of what a sorority is completely. Over the semesters it has been a lot of hard work but I’ve come out of it with stronger leadership skills. My friend group has now expanded to a lovely group of ladies and I have so much pride in being their sister.

People always ask me why I went to school in Iowa if my home is Pennsylvania. It was partly because my dad went here and my parents encouraged me to apply. It was also cheaper to pay out-of-state tuition here than in-state back at home. But mainly I wanted to expand my experiences and knowledge of the world, even if it was still in the United States. Now that I’m getting closer to going back to Pennsylvania, I feel a mixture of emotions. I am conflicted because both places are a home to me. I hope to keep the relationships that I made here so instead of goodbye, this is see you later.


Written by Abby "Lunarto" Loftin

0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page