top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureIOWA STATE DPHIL

Lifelong Sweet Tooth

My passion for baking first started when I was a kid. Most of the time I would go from activity to activity, but nothing really kept my interest for long. But I did have an Easy Bake Oven (you know those expensive toys that cooked everything with just a light bulb?). I would make something and proudly serve it to my parents who pretended they were the greatest treats in the whole world. Eventually, I moved my way up to baking boxed cake mixes in the oven.


Over the years I’ve become more interested in complex recipes and baking techniques. I like to pick one sweet and practice making it before I move onto a new one. My ultimate goal is to be able to create my own recipes and bake anything on the fly. I find certain techniques fascinating and enjoy watching videos of professionals making cool confections. Now when I practice making sweets, my parents enjoy being my test guinea pigs. I find baking to be therapeutic in a way because it’s relaxing to combine the ingredients and put together the final product. But what I enjoy the most is the joy it brings to other people and the ability that food has to bring people together. If anyone would like to fund my expensive habit I will make you anything you want. Haha! But honestly, if anyone wants to talk to me about sweets feel free to hit me up.

Written by Abby "Lunarto" Loftin

0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page