top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureIOWA STATE DPHIL

My Spring Break Study Abroad Opportunity in China

Over spring break I got the opportunity to study in the biggest exporting country in the world, China. That may sound a little boring, like who cares if they are a big exporter? However, for me, as a supply chain student, it is SO COOL! This trip was through my SCM 491 class. Although this is a supply chain elective, this course is open to any student who has taken the intro supply chain course: SCM 301. There weren't any students who went on the trip with me who had other majors, so I thought I’d talk about my experience and what this trip entails.

For this class we got to partner with Target and follow a product of theirs through the whole entire supply chain. We started off at a Target retail store and followed the product backwards. From there we were able to go to the regional distribution center and food distribution center in Cedar Falls. When spring break rolled around, we went to Los Angeles for a couple days to visit the Long Beach Port and Yusen Logistics to the import side.


Next, it was finally time to go to China. While I was there, we got to see the LuckyWood manufacturer where Target gets their furniture made, the consolidation center, and the HUGE port where the products go out! ​


The whole trip was not all business though! We got the chance to visit multiple sites which included (not limited to): The Great Wall, The Forbidden City, The Temple of Heaven, and The Jade Palace!


We even got to visit a University in Beijing and experience what it was like to be a student in China! I got paired with a couple of girls who were so nice; they showed me around and even took me shopping!


Although this trip was packed, busy, and exhausting, I wouldn’t replace this experience for anything! Not only did this trip open my eyes to a new culture and country, it expanded my knowledge on supply chain and helped me make some amazing friends on the way. I’m so grateful I was able to attend this trip when so many others weren’t able to. I’ll remember it forever!


Written by Alina "Zephyr" Pham

0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page