top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureIOWA STATE DPHIL

Sister in South Korea

Hey. This is Houa Vang. For those who don't know me, I'm a junior majoring in Nutritional Science. I am from Des Moines, Iowa and of course, chartered with my Empowering Eight ls' here at Iowa State. While my ls' are starting recruitment, I am currently in South Korea studying abroad for a semester!

Here's a brief bit about my experience so far. The adventure to get to South Korea has been very memorable. I had many firsts. 1.) First time on an airplane 2.) First time sleeping in an airport 3.) First time of being afraid missing a flight or going the wrong direction 4.) First time studying abroad 5.) First time in a new country 6.) First time in South Korea 7.) First out of my family to study abroad 8.) First out of my friends to study abroad and go to South Korea 9.) First time getting a passport and visa by myself 10.) First time in a place where English is not main language 11.) First time being extremely on my own 12.) First time to actually have to speak Korean 13.) First time to have "real" Korean food 14.) First time having a Korean roommate 15.) First time living in a suite 16.) First time being the only American in the suite 17.) First time living with 11 other girls 18.) First time squatting in the girl's toilet (aka restroom) 19.) First time experiencing a new culture

The list could go on (by maybe five more). Other than that, I have had many firsts and it's only been the third week. Within three weeks, my firsts allowed me to spread my wings and take me on a journey I never thought I would take. I have dreamed of it but never thought it would turn into a reality.

I wanted to study abroad ever since I knew what studying abroad was. One particular country was South Korea. Yes, I was and am into K-Pop (mostly hip hop and ballad/OST) and K-Drama and the Hallyu wave. When I heard about the opportunity to go to study abroad in South Korea I jumped right into it getting more information from the advisor of the program. That was freshmen year of college. I remember telling my friends about the program and wanting to go. Now, the thing is that I didn't just want to go because I was a huge Hallyu fan, I went because of what the program offered. The program does offer reimbursements, give you a weekly stipend at the university, and live in a dormitory for free BUT it was more than that. It was the opportunity to have a cultural experience outside of my own, to interact with Koreans and other international students as a group and one-on-one, to take classes about the Korean culture such as Taekwondo, Korean history, and Korean writing and speaking (to name a few). And mostly to have an experience to truly learn, adapt, understand, and respect the culture.  Also to have fun too of course.

Anyway, if I didn't take this opportunity, I would be at Iowa State right now going to class and maybe almost dreading the homework and studying. Here, I am also studying but completely differently (I actually don't have any homework yet; just studying my Korean words. And this is our second week of school so nothing much to do yet). If I didn't take this opportunity, I would never have my firsts listed above. I do lead a boring yet interesting and fun life depending on the situation and this moment in my life I am taking full advantage. I am truly blessed to be where I am now with the help of my family, faculty, and friends.

I have a lot more to learn and explore here in South Korea. I hope that if life gives you this opportunity, and especially during our college years, take it. Don't be afraid yet be afraid (I was)  because this got my heart racing for good reasons. The number one thing I've learned is that there is a whole new world on the other side of the planet. Grasp it because this opportunity might not come again and in the end, it'll be worth it.

I hope those who are reading this can get a glance of where I am, what I'm doing in Korea, and how I'm feeling. You can add me on facebook or follow me on Instagram (houawasx) to see what I'm up to in Korea. I just created an Instagram account so be patient with me. I hope to meet new faces when I get back (…girls who are interested in Delta Phi Lambda…). Good luck ls' with recruitment and building our foundation on campus and creating stronger bonds with each other.

IES, Houa "Manifesto" Vang


Written by Houa "Manifesto" Vang

0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page