top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureIOWA STATE DPHIL

Stresses of Balancing College With Work, Social Life, and Personal Interests? It's Okay. Reach Out.


I think this question is relevant for what we are experiencing in the time of the COVID-19 pandemic. Before COVID-19 occurred, I would call myself very well organized. My calendar was my bible, and everything in it was sacred. From classes, to meetings, to work, to scheduled hangouts, my entire life was in my calendar. I knew exactly where to be and when at every hour of the day. My time spent at home was usually just sleeping at night because I was so busy.


Iowa State University announced that we would not be returning to any activities on campus- effective immediately by the time spring break ended. I’ve taken lots of online classes before, but let’s be honest: I don’t really learn from online courses. I just skim the information and never retain it. I take online courses to get requirements out of the way. I became worried that the classes that used to be in person, that I was truly enjoying, would meet the same fate.


I have mixed feelings about how I’ve been functioning in this time. On one hand, my classes have become something I don’t have a strong motivation for anymore. I do the bare minimum to see the Canvas to-do list shrink. On the other hand, my hobbies, interests, and friendships have flourished. I’ve had time to dedicate to my art. I’ve started to stream on Twitch like I’ve always wanted. I get to spend time with my animals which used to only see me at feeding time. I’ve been able to regularly exercise. My friends and I talk to each other constantly and I’ve been responding to text messages for once because I have the time to and I can remember to. We’ve all grown closer over the stress of this pandemic, providing each other with the love and support we cannot give in person. In short, my personal life has expanded while my academic and work life shrank.


Is this bad? I’m not sure yet. What I do know is that it’s okay to feel jumbled by this pandemic that has upended the entire world. It’s okay to feel stress and anxiety over what is happening because this is something my generation and many others have never faced. If it’s hard to balance school, work, and personal life amid an unknown present and future, that’s 100% okay. If anything, let people know how you are doing if you can. To have friends and mentors constantly checking up on me and my emotional and physical health has meant a lot to me and kept me able to continue to try and do my best. Also, be that friend/mentor if you can as well.


Your college may have the resources you need during this time of stress and uncertainty while continuing to take online courses. Iowa State University Student Wellness is keeping the ISU community updated and informed on how to keep connected with each other. Iowa State University also has Student Counseling Services available by phone at 515-294-5056 Monday-Friday 8am to 5pm and they are there to support students and be a plan of action. As stated on their website, they have a crisis text line 24/7, simply text “ISU” to 741741. The National Suicide Prevention Lifeline is 1-800-273-8255. There is help, and it’s okay to reach out.


This is a difficult and even scary time, but we can work through these challenges together. Even being 6+ feet apart.


Written by Jillian “perīdot” Kurovski


0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page